Whirpool India Ltd - I am not satisfied with your ICEMAGIC refrigerator
Contact Complainant     2175 Views     Report Spam  
Complaint by: abhijit on May 13, 2009, 5:12 pm in Consumer Electronics

I have purchased one Whirlpool Icemagic 300 lts. refrigerator three years back. Since day one this equipment is giving me trouble. In three years at least 5 to 6 times gas refilling has been done and compressor is also changed once. My latest complaint no. is MB0509006304 dated 11/05/09 regarding non-cooling.

Next day one service engineer visited (Sanjay Paul 09224764830) and he was interested to sell me one trolley and told me that only gas charging is required.

Next day technician visited to do the job and told that gas charging will not help because door has got some problem and he can not fix it because engineer did not mention the same on his report.

When contacted the engineer he is dragging his feet.

Under the situation I feel helpless and do not know what to do. Interestingly service engineers do not give copy of any complaint to the customer so it is very difficult to prove that the machine is faulty.

I would request Whirlpool to help me is sorting out my problem.

I am providing the phone no of my service centre

Thane, Maharashtra (022-25391356). Please do something and behave like a responsible company and do not get bogged down on bureaucracy.





New Addition, extra information

I have already explored all the options to get my grievances redressed but all my pleas have fallen in deaf ears. I am approaching you with my problem for quicker redresal.

I have purchased a Whirlpool Icemagic refrigerator on 27/04/06 and since than I am having problems with this machine. I am writing down a brief history of the machine functioning and repairs for your kind reference:

Date of purchase: 27/04/06
Date of first complaint : 26/12/07 (MB1207014604) - Gas Charging
Date of second complaint: 14/02/08 (MB0208006581) - Gas Charging
Date of third complaint : 18/05/08 (MB050811946) - Gas Charging
Date of fourth complaint: 27/06/08 (MB0608018275) - Compressor Change and gas charging
Date of fifth complaint : 12/05/08 (MB059006234) - Gas Changing
Date of sixth complaint : 12/05/09 ( same) - door to be replaced

I do not have record of how many times I have complained within first year warranty period.

If you look at the history of complaint I am sure you will appreciate that the refrigerator had some problem from the start and that may be the reason why it needed frequent gas charging. I remember my last refrigerator (BPL) served me without problem for 15 years and today I repent my decision of changing that with this defective piece.

In the past I requested your service engineers to investigate if there is any problem with the door closure because that will lead to all kinds of problem and electricity consumption also will go up and they did not bothered to listen instead resorted to shortcut of gas charging and somehow making it operational.

Today they admit that the door (door magnet) is not functioning properly and there is cool air leakage so I will have to replace the door and it will cost me about Rs. 3000=00 (not covered in whirlpool homecare plan) and it will take 2 - 3 weeks time to do the same.

At this juncture I would like to ask you a few questions

1) Do not you feel that the piece was defective
2) Do not you feel your service centre people have misguided me and did not do there job well that has caused enormous financial damage to you as well as me.
3) Am I unreasonable about my complaints, malfunctioning of door magnet is a plastic part and can not be covered in warranty. How you are penalizing me for no fault of mine.


I am writing this mail in detail so that you can take a call on that issue and get me some relief. Today I am mentally prepared to face inconvenience of 15 days and take a hit of Rs. 3000=00 but I am sure you will understand my agony.

I do not have sufficient time to seek legal aid but definitely I will forward copy of this mail (if I do not receive any response from your side)from our centralized mail server to all the senior management staff of ACC Ltd., Gujarat Ambuja Cements and some of my group companies so that none of them undergo such kind of mental agony in future. I am sure they will black list WHIRLPOOL for any future purchase of senior management furnishings.


A.Chattopadhyay
Head - Resouce Evaluation and Plant services
ACC Ltd.
TSS Complex
Thane (W)
Maharashtra
400604
(09869201593)

Complainant's Goal: I want a replacement piece because track record says the piece is defective
Complainant's Target: Whirpool India Ltd
Complaint Location: IndiaMaharashtraMumbai

Would you like to Comment on this Complaint?
By clicking "Post Comment" button, you agree to our Terms of Services and Privacy Policy
Recent Comments
1.
Thu, 14 May 2009  Message from iComplaints.in Helpdesk

An email communication has been sent to Whirpool India Ltd on May 13, 2009, 7:49 pm